Broadcast Live on Sunday, November 23 (8:00-11:00 p.m. ET/PT) on ABC

WHO: Host Pitbull, and with performers 5 Seconds of Summer, A$AP Rocky, Mary J. Blige, Garth Brooks, Charli XCX, Fergie, Selena Gomez, Ariana Grande, Skylar Grey, Imagine Dragons, Jessie J, Wyclef Jean, Lil Wayne, Jennifer Lopez, Lorde, Magic!, Christina Milian, Nicki Minaj, One Direction, Sam Smith, Taylor Swift, The Weeknd and presenters Uzo Aduba, Jhene Aiko, Anthony Anderson, Diana Agron, Elizabeth Banks, Kate Beckinsale, Aloe Blacc, Luke Bryan, Lauren Cohan, Mark Cuban, Gavin DeGraw, Patrick Dempsey, Drake, Josh Duhamel, Ansel Elgort, Jamie Foxx, Becky G, Brantley Gilbert, Danai Gurira, Lucy Hale, Ella Henderson, Julianne Hough, Kendall Jenner, Kylie Jenner, Khloe Kardashian, Miss America 2015 Kira Kazantsev, Heidi Klum, Mary Lambert, Jenny McCarthy, Danica McKellar, Pat Monahan, Matthew Morrison, Olivia Munn, Kevin O’Leary, Rita Ora, Pentatonix, Diana Ross, Tracee Ellis Ross, Taylor Schilling, T.I., Meghan Trainor, Donnie Wahlberg, and nomineesSara Bareilles, Bastille, Calvin Harris, Juicy J, Newsboys, and many more.

WHAT: As always at the American Music Awards, artists were honored in the genres of Pop/Rock, Country, Rap/Hip-Hop, Soul/R&B, Alternative Rock, Adult Contemporary, Latin, Contemporary Inspirational, Electronic Dance Music, as well as categories for Top Soundtrack, New Artist of the Year Presented by Kohl’s, Artist of the Year and Single of the Year. For a full list of nominees visit AMAvote.com.

American Music Awards nominees are based on key fan interactions as reflected in Billboard Magazine and on Billboard.com, including album and digital singles sales, radio airplay, streaming and social activity. These measurements are tracked by Billboard and its data partners, including Nielsen Entertainment and Next Big Sound.

The American Music Awards was voted on by the fans. Winners were determined through online and Twitter voting.  Voting began on October 13 for all categories except New Artist of the Year Presented by Kohl’s.

Voting for New Artist of the Year Presented by Kohl’s opened on November 1 and remained open throughout the first hour of the ABC live broadcast on November 23, with the winner being announced in the final hour.

The first-ever 2014 American Music Awards “International Song Award” was given to the Chinese hit music duo, the Chopstick Brothers for the song “Little Apple,” who also performed the song tonight. The first-ever “International Artist Award” was also given to Chinese singer Zhang Jie.

WHEN:  Sunday, November 23, 2014               


MORE: Preceding the ABC broadcast for the 6th consecutive year was the “Coca-Cola Red Carpet LIVE! @ The 2014 AMAs” pre-show. The show was hosted by Lance Bass, Chelsea Briggs, Kandi Burruss, Gavin DeGraw, Franke Grande, Taryn Manning, Jordin Sparks, Morgan Stewart and Ted Stryker, and featured performances by this year’s hottest emerging artists including Becky G, Ella Henderson, Katy Tiz, Mary Lambert and R5. Live coverage was streamed online for fans worldwide starting at 5:00 p.m. ET / 2:00 p.m. PT on November 23.  The live stream could be watched at ABC.com, TheAMAs.com and yahoo.com.

Once the show started, the full digital experience kicked into high gear on ABC.com and the WATCH ABC app for smartphones and tablets.  Sponsored by Kohl’s®, the “AMAs Backstage Live” on WATCH ABC was designed to be the ultimate complement to the live telecast.  Beginning at 8:00 PM ET, WATCH ABC viewers nationwide could choose between four different live feeds that delivered insider viewpoints into all the action happening on the show and backstage: Kohl’s Director’s Cut, Backstage and the Press Room. Verified pay TV viewers in New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Houston, Fresno, Raleigh-Durham and Philadelphia could also access a live stream of the full awards show as part of WATCH ABC’s regular service. Once aired, the full show will be available on demand via WATCH ABC for 14 days.

The 2014 American Music Awards partners included Cumulus, Music Choice, Shazam, Time Warner Cable and Yahoo.

The 2014 American Music Awards is produced by dick clark productions. Allen Shapiro and Mike Mahan are Executive Producers, Barry Adelman and Mark Bracco are Co-Executive Producers, and Larry Klein is producer.

For the latest American Music Awards news, exclusive content and more, be sure to follow the AMAs on social and join the conversation by using the official hashtag for the show, #AMAs.


2014 Winners

Single of the Year

Katy Perry Featuring Juicy J – Dark Horse

Artist of the Year

One Direction

New Artist of the Year

5 Seconds of Summer

Dick Clark Award for Excellence

Taylor Swift

Favorite Male Artist – Pop/Rock

Sam Smith

Favorite Female Artist – Pop/Rock

Katy Perry

Favorite Band, Duo or Group – Pop/Rock

One Direction

Favorite Album – Pop/Rock

One Direction – Midnight Memories

Favorite Male Artist – Country

Luke Bryan

Favorite Female Artist – Country

Carrie Underwood

Favorite Band, Duo or Group – Country

Florida Georgia Line

Favorite Album – Country

Brantley Gilbert – Just As I Am

Favorite Artist – Rap/Hip-Hop

Iggy Azalea

Favorite Album – Rap/Hip-Hop

Iggy Azalea – The New Classic

Favorite Male Artist – Soul/R&B

John Legend

Favorite Female Artist – Soul/R&B


Favorite Album – Soul/R&B

Beyoncé – Beyoncé

Favorite Artist – Alternative Rock

Imagine Dragons

Favorite Artist – Adult Contemporary

Katy Perry

Favorite Artist – Latin

Enrique Iglesias

Favorite Artist – Contemporary Inspirational

Casting Crowns

Favorite Artist – Electronic Dance Music (EDM)

Calvin Harris

Top Soundtrack


International Song Award

Chopstick Brothers, “Little Apple”

International Artist Award

Zhang Jie



See the full list of 2018 AMAs winners!


View Comments
comments powered by Disqus